top of page
  • DFC

Postural Milestones

The spinal column consists of 24 freely movable bones, which are supported by the tailbone.  There are several major functions of the spine.  Foremost, it houses and protects the spinal cord and nerves, allowing messages to travel from the brain to target tissues throughout the body.  Second, the spine is an integral part of the axial skeleton from which the skull, ribs, arms and legs extend.  The spine houses the protections mechanism for the heart, lungs, and other vital organs.  The cervical spine is made up of seven segments which comprise the neck.  The thoracic spine houses the rib cage and consists of twelve segments.  The lumbar spine consists of five vertebrae, which are supported by the sacral base.  

At birth, the spine consists of two primary curvatures, the thoracic spine and sacrum.   This is the reason infants have c-shaped posture for several months.  Throughout the many developmental stages of the first two years of life, the secondary curves of the spine develop forming the neck and low back.  The four curves allow for upright posture and locomotion.

Five Crucial Milestones in Postural Development Spinal evaluation and gentle chiropractic care during these stages can help to ensure proper spinal development.  

Holding the head erect Sitting Crawling Standing Walking

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page